Asian-Pacific Postal Union (APPU)

asian-pacific-postal-unionITS–The Asian-Pacific Postal Union  (APPU) is an inter-governmental organization of 32 postal administrations of the Asian-Pacific region, affiliated to the Universal Postal Union. The purpose of the APPU is to extend, facilitate and improve postal relations between member countries and to promote cooperation in the field of postal services.

APPU is a restricted union which resulted from discussions which were organized by the Philippines government in Manila on 10 – 23 January 1961. Among the countries invited were Afghanistan, Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.  The roundtable drew up the Asian-Oceanic Postal Convention, which came into force on the 1st of April 1962. On that date, they formed a union among themselves and established its headquarters in Manila with Mr. Palomar, Postmaster General of Philippines as its first Director. The headquarters was relocated to Bangkok in 2002.

Leave a Reply